PIKEVILLE, Ky. — The Kentucky Proud program has added 17 Kentucky counties to Appalachia Proud, the brand that designates agricultural products from Appalachian Kentucky, Agriculture Commissioner Ryan Quarles announced at the SOAR (Shaping Our Appalachian Region) Summit on Friday in Pikeville.

“Now more Kentucky producers can use the Appalachia Proud brand to show their pride in their Appalachian heritage,” Commissioner Quarles said. “Consumers identify Appalachia Proud products with the unique culture and fiercely independent spirit of the region. Agriculture can and will generate additional economic activity in the area at every level, from small family farms and farmers’ markets to the giant AppHarvest greenhouse complex that’s under construction in Rowan County. Agriculture has a bright future in Appalachia.”

The new counties were added to conform Appalachia Proud to the definition of Appalachia adopted by SOAR and the federal Appalachian Regional Commission. The counties added to Appalachia Proud are Adair, Casey, Clark, Clinton, Cumberland, Edmonson, Fleming, Garrard, Green, Hart, Lincoln, Metcalfe, Monroe, Nicholas, Robertson, Russell, and Wayne.